Open Call for Community Grants Scheme (United Kingdom)
Issued by University of Edinburgh’s Community Grants Scheme · via fundsforNGOs — grants & funding calls
- Published
- 30 Sept 2026
- Closes
- 26 Oct 2026
- Reference
- open-call-for-community-grants-scheme-united-kingdom
- Location
- United Kingdom
- Sector
- Defence & Security
Details
The University of Edinburgh’s Community Grants Scheme provides community-focused funding of up to £5,000 for projects that support people living in Edinburgh and surrounding regions. The scheme aims to contribute to specific United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and strengthen relationships between the University and local organisations. Applications are open and close on 26 October 2026 at 10:00am. The Community Grants Scheme aims to support work with positive social impact for people living in the following areas: Projects should contribute to one or more of the following United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): A second key objective is to develop positive relationships between the University and the community organisation delivering the project. Cost coverage details, funder expectations for budgets, and what expenditure types are eligible are not specified in the source. Applicants should consult the scheme’s full guidance and related documents via the official page. Based on the information provided, the following requirements are clear: Applicant type and specific organisation eligibility criteria are not specified in the provided source text. The page advises applicants to read the scheme’s Frequently Asked Questions for eligibility and other helpful information. Eligible projects should contribute to at least one of the following SDGs: In addition, projects should help build positive relationships between the University and the community organisation. This opportunity is designed for community organisations seeking modest funding (up to £5,000) to deliver activities with social value in Edinburgh and neighbouring regions. By tying projects to relevant SDGs and emphasising University–community relationship-building, the scheme is likely intended for initiatives that can demonstrate both local impact and constructive collaboration. For accessibility needs or help completing the form:
https: //local.ed.ac.uk/community-grants/how-to-apply
What is the maximum amount I can apply for under the Community Grants Scheme? You can apply for up to £5,000 per project. The scheme also welcomes applications for less. When is the Community Grants Scheme deadline? Applications close on 26 October 2026 at 10:00am. (Time zone not specified in the source.) Which locations are eligible for project delivery? Projects need to be in Edinburgh, Fife, the Lothians, and/or the Scottish Borders (listed as City of Edinburgh, East Lothian, Midlothian, West Lothian, Scottish Borders and/or Fife). Can I apply more than once for the same project? No. The scheme states one grant per project. Does the scheme fund projects that have already finished? No. The source states it does not fund projects that have already been completed. What SDGs can my project support? Projects should contribute to one or more of: 1 No Poverty; 3 Good Health and Wellbeing; 4 Quality Education; 8 Decent Work and Economic Growth; 10 Reduced Inequalities; 11 Sustainable Cities and Communities. Is there an alternative smaller funding option? Yes. The page mentions a micro-grant scheme for smaller projects with funding of up to £500, and it is described as open all year round. Details for that programme are separate from the Community Grants Scheme. If you meet the basic requirements—especially the project geography, non-completed status, and the £5,000 maximum request—review the scheme’s Frequently Asked Questions and follow the application instructions via the official Community Grants: How to apply page before the 26 October 2026 at 10:00am deadline. For more information, visit University of Edinburgh.
Context for bidders
There are 54 open Defence & Security tenders in United Kingdom. This one closes in 24 days.
Similar Defence & Security tenders
- The Provision of OBSIDIAN Support
- RFI: Digital Technologies for Contact Tracing, Infection Surveillance & Response· closes 2 Oct
- For the provision of Aerodrome Rescue and Fire Fighting (ARFF) Services to the Joint Service Parachute Centre Weston on the Green (JSPCW)· closes 30 Oct
- Primary Surveillance Radar (LSI)
- CN260764 - Provision of Community Safety Accreditation Scheme (CSAS) Resource· closes 30 Oct
Before you bid on this tender
A quick checklist to help you decide whether to bid and prepare a compliant submission for this defence & security opportunity. Always verify the details on the official source.
- Confirm the exact closing date and time (and time zone) on the official portal — deadlines are strict and can be revised by a corrigendum.
- Read the full notice and every attached document, including the scope, specifications and any bill of quantities or terms of reference.
- Check the eligibility criteria — prior similar experience, annual turnover, certifications and registrations — and make sure you qualify before investing effort.
- Prepare any earnest-money deposit (EMD) or bid security and the required formats early; missing or wrongly-formatted documents are a common cause of rejection.
- Note how bids must be submitted (online or physical), in what format, and whether a digital signature or portal registration is required.
- Watch for corrigenda and clarifications right up to the deadline — requirements and dates can change.
More Defence & Security tenders
- Registro de Preços para futura e eventual contratação de empresas especializadas na prestação de serviços de apoio à realização de eventos municipais, compreendendo serviços de segurança privada desarmada, segurança patrimonial, brigadistas, serviços de garçom, serviços de camarim e montagem e desmontagem de…MUNICIPIO DE PIEN · SECRETARIA DE ESPORTE, CULTURA E LAZER · Brazil
- Aquisição de Consumíveis no âmbito da Investigação CriminalGuarda Nacional Republicana · Portugal
- Aquisição e instalação de terminais biométricos para as unidades desconcentradas do IGFSSInstituto de Gestão Financeira da Segurança Social, IP · Portugal
- Outsourcing of Service Provider for Supply, Delivery and Assembling of GYM Equipment at SA Army Combat Training Centre Lohatla. DOD Proc PLA 26-27 SA Army/2281Defence · South Africa
- 金华市消防救援支队机关及直属单位2026年度伙食配送服务采购项目公开招标公告金华市消防救援支队 · China
FreeTender mirrors this notice for reference. Verify the details and bid on the official portal.
Verify & apply on the official portal →