FreeTender
Deadline not statedrfiUnited Kingdom

DMNH 042 - LEVI Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure

Issued by Shropshire Council · via UK Find a Tender Service

Published
16 Oct 2026
Value
GBP 108,000,000
Reference
DMNH 042
Location
United Kingdom
Sector
Transport & Logistics
Type
works

At a glance

Shropshire Council in United Kingdom has published a request for information in transport & logistics: “DMNH 042 - LEVI Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure”. The notice does not state a closing date, so confirm the timetable on the official portal. The stated value is GBP 108,000,000. Quote reference DMNH 042 in any correspondence with the buyer. FreeTender has recorded 11 notices from this buyer since 2026, 9 of them currently open. There are 302 open transport & logistics notices in United Kingdom on FreeTender. Bids are submitted to the buyer through UK Find a Tender Service, not through FreeTender.

Details

Shropshire Council is undertaking a secondary preliminary market engagement (PME) exercise in advance of a planned procurement for the delivery of publicly accessible electric vehicle charging infrastructure (EVCI) across Shropshire. Since undertaking its initial market engagement exercise, the Council has refined its proposed delivery model, concession structure, funding assumptions and site identification methodology. This secondary PME is intended to test these emerging proposals with the market and ensure that the eventual procurement is structured to maximise competition, attract investment and deliver a sustainable, equitable public charging network across Shropshire. The Council intends to procure a concession contract for the supply, installation, connection, operation and maintenance of electric vehicle charging infrastructure funded through the Department for Transport's Local Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (LEVI) Fund. This secondary PME is being conducted in accordance with the market engagement provisions of the Procurement Act 2023 and is intended solely to inform the design and conduct of a future procurement. Participation in this engagement exercise will not confer any advantage or disadvantage in any subsequent procurement process. The Council currently anticipates commencing a formal procurement process during 2026, with contract award anticipated in 2027.

Background

Shropshire currently has approximately 546 public charge points. The Council has secured £2,006,000 of LEVI funding and expects to facilitate the deployment of over 550 additional charge points across the county. The programme is intended to improve access to EV charging, particularly for residents without access to off-street parking, and support the transition to electric vehicles across both urban and rural communities. Proposed Opportunity The Council is considering appointing a charge point operator under a concession contract to: Design, install, connect and operate EV charge points; Maintain and manage the charging network; Invest alongside the Council's LEVI funding; Deliver charging infrastructure on-street and on Council-owned land. The network is expected to comprise primarily 7kW charge points, supplemented by 22kW fast chargers and a limited number of rapid chargers where site conditions and network capacity permit. The Council is currently proposing a concession term of 15 years, with an option to extend by two years. The Council's current expectation is that the appointed concessionaire will be responsible for: Detailed design and delivery of the charging network; Supply, installation and commissioning of charging infrastructure; Distribution network connections; Operation, maintenance and management of the charging network; Customer services and payment systems; Asset lifecycle management and replacement; Reporting and performance monitoring requirements. The anticipated charging mix is expected to include: Primarily 7kW standard charging infrastructure; 22kW fast charging infrastructure where site and network conditions permit; A limited number of rapid charging installations of 50kW or greater where commercially and technically viable. Charging infrastructure is expected to be located principally on-street and on Council-owned land. Further information regarding the proposed site portfolio and deployment expectations will be made available at procurement stage. Use of Core Supplier Information Suppliers should note that any future procurement undertaken under the Procurement Act 2023 is expected to require suppliers to be registered on the Central Digital Platform (Find a Tender) and to maintain up-to-date Core Supplier Information in accordance with Regulation 6 of the Procurement Regulations 2024. Areas for Market Feedback The Council particularly welcomes feedback regarding: Traffic Regulation Orders (TROs) and their management Site assessment and selection Site design and stakeholder engagement Communications and customer engagement Participation Important Information

This notice:

Does not constitute a call for competition; Does not commence a procurement procedure; Does not constitute any commitment by the Council to procure the services described; Is issued solely for market engagement and information gathering purposes. Any future procurement opportunity will be advertised separately in accordance with applicable procurement legislation and published via the Central Digital Platform (Find a Tender).

This notice has closed — what to do next

We hold 11 notices from Shropshire Council, going back to August 2026 — 9 of them still open. They buy mostly in Construction & Infrastructure, Real Estate & Facilities and Sports, Recreation & Events. There are 302 open Transport & Logistics tenders in United Kingdom.

Browse all open Transport & Logistics tenders →

Before you bid on this tender

A quick checklist to help you decide whether to bid and prepare a compliant submission for this transport & logistics opportunity. Always verify the details on the official source.

  • Confirm the closing date and submission window on the official portal before you start preparing your bid.
  • Read the full notice and every attached document, including the scope, specifications and any bill of quantities or terms of reference.
  • Check the eligibility criteria — prior similar experience, annual turnover, certifications and registrations — and make sure you qualify before investing effort.
  • Prepare any earnest-money deposit (EMD) or bid security and the required formats early; missing or wrongly-formatted documents are a common cause of rejection.
  • Note how bids must be submitted (online or physical), in what format, and whether a digital signature or portal registration is required.
  • Watch for corrigenda and clarifications right up to the deadline — requirements and dates can change.

More Transport & Logistics tenders

All Transport & Logistics tenders →

FreeTender mirrors this notice for reference. Verify the details and bid on the official portal.

Verify & apply on the official portal →